This is a picture of my mother and fellow teachers at their school performing “Thriller” for their students.

thrillerblogWhen you think of Hip Hop or Pop, the first person you think of should be Michael Jackson. I was introduced Michael Jackson for the first time when I was around five or six years old.  I found this old cassette tape of my mom’s in a box with a bunch of other stuff.  Before I continue, I must say that I owe all my “love of music” to my mother.  Anyway, the cassette tape was actually one my mother had made back in 1980.  One side had Michael Jackson and the other Barry Manilow.  I will let you guess which side I liked best.  The cassette was full of  his songs from the 70’s.  The one that I liked was, “She’s Out of My Life” and “Shake Your Body Down To The Ground”.  Of course whenever I listened to the tape, I would get to hear lots of reminiscing from my mom.   Michael Jackson was born on August 29, 1958, in Gary, Indiana. He was not only a childhood star, but he was a star his whole life. Michael sold over 750 million albums and counting. Jackson was an amazing and talented singer and dancer.  Teenagers and young adults strive to copy his dance moves. On June 25, 2009 Michael Jackson died being known as the “King of Pop”. Even though he is no longer with us, thousands of albums still sell each year, with “Thriller” still being the best selling album of all time.

http://www.michaeljackson.com/us

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_songs_recorded_by_Michael_Jackson

