I always looked forward music classes when I was in elementary and junior high school because it was so much fun.  I even had several singing parts in the class music programs.  When I entered sixth grade, I joined the choir and continued until my 8th grade year.  I guess my teacher thought I was pretty good, because he wanted me to sing in the select choir, and told me I would not even have to try out.  I remember him telling me that music and playing instruments were good for my brain.   I laughed at the time, but realize now how true that is.  There are studies that have even proven it. I guess I should have stuck with singing or playing the electric guitar when I was younger.  Maybe I would have been smarter.

Here are some facts I found about becoming involved in music at school:  First, children who participate in music activities at school have a larger vocabulary and read at a higher level than their peers that do not.  Did you know that studying music teaches the brain to understand speech in a noisy background? Children who learn to master a musical instrument improves their learning of the human language and makes them pick up a second language easier than one who does not play. Finally, students who are involved in music some sort have the lowest percentage of alcohol and drug intake.

http://sethsandler.com/leadership/importance-teaching-music/

http://www.pbs.org/parents/education/music-arts/the-benefits-of-music-education/

 

Christmas Music Program at my school.

